About Us

The portal is affiliated to the subproject A11 of the Collaborative Research Centre (CRC) 933 “Material Text Cultures. Materiality and Presence of Writing in Non-Typographic Societies” of the German Research Foundation. It focuses on the analysis of graffiti (engravings) on Roman gold coins. For the first time the CRC 933 focuses on numismatic evidence, and the practice of its reception, as written artefacts.  While graffiti on other materials have already been examined on many occasions, this has rarely been done in regard to coins.

The project focuses on – reconstructable – forms of the perception of writing on Roman coins and their secondary marking by graffiti, which are partly directed at private and partly at public audiences. This includes the analysis of the specific materiality of gold coins as moveable written artefacts independent of a topological context as well as the text-image interactions that can be recognized on them.

The portal serves the analysis of a significant stock of material for the project. Since the project focuses on graffiti on Roman gold coins, this cluster is initially the centre of attention. On the long run, however, all extant evidence with secondary markings by graffiti throughout epochs and across denominations shall be recorded in the portal. After the termination of the CRC, this database will continue to make numismatic artefacts with graffiti accessible to the public and scientific community.

 

For further information on the subproject A11 of the CRC 933 see the homepage of the subproject: https://www.materiale-textkulturen.de/teilprojekt.php?tp=A11&up=

 

If you come across a coin from any collection or research that you might work with that could be relevant for both our project and this database as well, we would be happy and thankful about a notification. You can find the relevant information under "contact". Thank you!

 

Photo, home page: Thomas Zühmer (RLM Trier)

 

Special thanks go to the Coin Cabinet of the State Museum of Berlin for the provision of existing templates to construct the portal.

Über uns

Die Graffiti-Datenbank ist dem Teilprojekt A11 des von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft finanzierten Sonderforschungsbereiches 933 „Materiale Textkulturen. Materialität und Präsenz des Geschriebenen in non-typographischen Gesellschaften“ (SFB 933) angegliedert. Im Zentrum des Teilprojekts steht die Untersuchung von Graffiti (Einritzungen) auf römischen Goldmünzen. Erstmals stehen im SFB 933 numismatische Zeugnisse als schrifttragende Artefakte und die an ihnen vollzogenen Rezeptionspraktiken im Fokus der Betrachtungen. Während Graffiti auf anderen Materialien in jüngerer Zeit vielfach untersucht worden sind, ist dies bislang in Bezug auf Münzen kaum geschehen.

Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts stehen die – rekonstruierbaren – Formen der Wahrnehmung von Schrift auf römischen Münzen und insbesondere deren sekundäre, teils an private, teils an öffentliche Adressaten gewandte Markierung durch Graffiti. Dabei spielen auch die spezifische Materialität von Goldmünzen als bewegliche, nicht an einen bestimmten topologischen Kontext gebundene schrifttragende Artefakte sowie die auf ihnen erkennbaren Bild-Text-Interaktionen eine wichtige Rolle.

Die Graffiti-Datenbank dient der Erschließung eines für das Projekt aussagekräftigen Materialbestandes. Da sich das Projekt mit Graffiti auf römischen Goldmünzen befasst, steht die Materialgruppe dieser Epoche zunächst im Vordergrund. Perspektivisch soll jedoch der gesamte epochen- und nominalübergreifende Bestand von Münzen mit Markierung durch Graffiti in der Datenbank erfasst werden und auch nach Ablauf des SFB 933 Münzen mit Graffiti der Öffentlichkeit und Forschungscommunity zur Verfügung stehen.

Weitere Informationen zum Teilprojekt A11 des SFB 933 sind auf der Projekt-Homepage abrufbar: https://www.materiale-textkulturen.de/teilprojekt.php?tp=A11&up=

 

Sollten Sie bei Ihren Arbeiten Münzen finden, die für unser Projekt und dieses Portal relevant sein könnten, würden wir uns sehr über Rückmeldungen freuen! Entsprechende Kontaktdaten finden Sie auf der Kontakt-Seite. Vielen Dank!

 

Foto, Startseite: Thomas Zühmer (RLM Trier)



Für die großzügige Möglichkeit, bestehende Vorlagen für die Erstellung des Graffiti-Portals zu verwenden, danken wir ganz herzlich dem Münzkabinett der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin.